skip navigation


International Federation of Futsal (FIFUSA),

The International Federation of Futsal (FIFUSA), Founded in 1971 and dissolved in 1990, revived in 2015, is a Sports Federation of International Futsal

It is created by the national Associations of seven countries, to govern internationally the practice of Fútbol de Salón (in Spanish) or Futebol de Salão (in Portuguese).

International Futsal Federation



Creation and structuring (years 1970)

On July 25th, 1971 at Sao Paulo, the South American trade Fair Football Confederation and the Brazilian Sports Confederation constitute the Federação Internacional de FUtebol de SAlão (FIFUSA). Its seat is set at Rio de Janeiro. It is founded by seven countries, including six South Americans – Uruguay, Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Bolivia, Peru – and Portugal, under the sponsorship of the powerful Brazilian Sports Confederation (CBS) and its President, João Havelange, who became the first of the FIFUSA (1971-1973) until his election at the head of the Fifa. The object of the FIFUSA is to disseminate, promote and govern internationally and democratically the sport then called "Room/Lounge Football".

The Brazilian João Havelange, absent at the Congress of Creation is chosen as the first chairman of the Executive Council of the FIFUSA. But, from 1971 to 1974, the FIFUSA is mainly headed by the Brazilian Secretary General Luiz Gonzaga de Oliveira Fernandes, Havelange More specifically, starting from 1973, to prepare his election at the head of the FIFA.

Development (1980-1982)

In July 1980, the Brazilian Januário OfAlesio Neto, President of Palmeiras, was elected to the head of the FIFUSA. Under its influence, it organizes itself export to the international. Alessio Neto opened the FIFUSA to the international in 1980, with the creation of major competitions such as the Pan American Championship in 1980 and then the first World Championship In 1982.

The 1980 Pan American Championship is played in Mexico. The participating teams are Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, the United States, Mexico, Paraguay and Uruguay. The tournament is won by the Brazilian team.

Two years later, the FIFUSA takes place in the world championship. With the participation of eleven countries (Brazil, Uruguay, Czechoslovakia, Argentina, Costa Rica, Paraguay, Colombia, Italy, Netherlands, Japan Country). The competition takes place in the gymnasium Ibirapuera To Sao Paulo And the Brazilian team wins again.

FIFA pressure (1983-1989)

The success of the first World Championship Draws the attention of the FIFA, who wants to take control of futsal. In addition to threatening to create his own World Cup, with his rules (practiced mainly in Europe), FIFA creates difficulties for competitions sponsored by the FIFUSA and prohibits the use of the word " Football "by other entities.

Members of the FIFUSA deposit and Register Trademark (®) the name "Futsal" on June 9, 1983 Madrid Spain. The representatives of the national associations members of the FIFUSA decide to include the term "futsal" in the statutes of the Federation at the Congress in Madrid. In the margins of the second world championship FIFUSA. Two weeks prior to the second world futsal championships, Madrid withdraws the promised subsidies and endangers the very existence of the FIFUSA. An agreement on the allocation of 1992 Between Havelange and Juan Antonio Samaranch, President of IOC, were directly involved in this turn of events.

Between 1988 and 1989, FIFA is trying to create its own "indoor football", with relative success. A Commission to study the problem proposes the dissolution of the FIFUSA and the transfer of the governance of futsal under the authority of FIFA. It proposes to the leaders and clubs of the Futsal Federation to merge the "indoor Football" (FIFA) with the futsal (de la FIFUSA). The goal is to create a hybrid, the "FIFA futsal", and to integrate a dependent sub-Commission and placed under the authority of the FIFA executive committee.

During the year 1989, members of FIFA and FIFUSA meet at three Times To Zürich To discuss and negotiate the integration of futsal within FIFA. The draft is denied by the vote of the extraordinary assembly of the FIFUSA, held on 23 September 1989 Madrid, by 12 votes against, 5 votes for and 2 abstentions. In 1990, under the recommendations of FIFA, the futsal federations of Brazil, the United States and Canada join the Football Federation and the FIFA futsal Commission. The FIFUSA is dissolved Following Economic problems. The South American continent and the rest of the federations formed the Pan American Futsal Confederation (CPFS or PANAFUTSAL).

From 1990, there are therefore two distinct futsal forms (FIFA and FIFUSA), with slightly different rules of the game and governed by two international organisations whose objectives and operating modalities are different and Remote.

FIFUSA managed by the PANAFUTSAL (1991-2002)

The PANAFUTSAL organizes the following four world championships on behalf of the FIFUSA (Italy 1991, Argentina 1995, Mexico 1997, Bolivia 2000).

The PANAFUTSAL signed a letter of intent in 2000 with the FIFA to join. This agreement implies that the FIFUSA will become a FIFA department, the latter taking the management of futsal. However, the partnership is not respected and each entity follows its course.

In December 2002, the members of the PANAFUTSAL (C.P.F.S.), which constituted all the last member associations of the FIFUSA, decided to maintain independence and autonomy indispensable to the defence of the original Sport model and the identity Cultural and social integration of futsal, by inheritance of the historical rights acquired by the FIFUSA since 1971.

Renaissance (since 2015)

During the year 2015, after a decade of inactivity, the FIFUSA resumed life and presented itself as the International Federation of Microfutsal » 3x3, 4x4 and 5x5 (playing in teams of three, four and five players). It organizes the European competitions with the European futsal Union (UEFS).

In 2017, the AMF excluded UEFS from its membership which offered FIFUSA a partner in Europe to revive the original association. Thus, the two entities Co-organize the 6th World Championship of Futsal clubs in early November.

In April 2018 the North American Futsal Federation was appointed by FIFUSA as the new Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean Islands.



Sport (s) RepresentedS)



25 July 1971(46 Years)






Valeriy Akhumyan


Rio de Janeiro

Site web


The presidents of the FIFUSA

  • 1971-1974: João Havelange (Brazil) was the first President elected in 1971. But from 1971 to 1974, the FIFUSA was mainly led by the Secretary General Luiz Gonzaga de Oliveira Fernandes, since João Havelange More specifically, starting from 1973, to prepare his election at the head of the Fifa, of which he was the President of 1974 To 1998.
  • 1975-1979: Mr. Wladir Nogueria Cardoso (Brazil). He was named and placed by João Havelange After his departure, to maintain control of Brazil on the FIFUSA. Under his presidency no major international competition has been promoted to promote the expansion of the Futebol de Salão.
  • 1980-1989: Mr. Januário OfAlesio NetoNote 4 (Brazil). With his arrival and thanks to his work, the new assembly Directive allowed the FIFUSA to reach its apogee and to give a universal dimension to futsal. It is also under his 1985, that the term futsal (was-SAL) was included in the Statutes of the FIFUSA.
  • 1989-2003: Mr. Antonio Alberca (Spain). Spanish bar lawyer, originally, with Mr. Teodosio Carbonell, the creation of the Federación Española de Fútbol Sala (F.E.F.S.) bringing together 58 futsal clubs.

Confederations affiliated to FIFUSA

Following the creation of the world Futsal Association, three continental confederations are members of the FIFUSA in February 2018: European futsal Union (UEFS), Asian futsal Association (KAFUSA) and the Latin American Futsal Union (ULAFS).